研究和开发

以合作赢得机遇。

随着 3D 打印越来越普及,ExOne 开始依靠合作来研究最佳材料使用方法和打印方法。ExOne 工程师与学生和教职人员密切合作,共同就这些对添加物制造行业举足轻重的问题展开调查。

多个研究组织也积极与 ExOne® 流程和设备互动,包括 Oak RidgeLawrence LivermoreNIST 等国家实验室。供应商和客户机构还执行了其他商业研究计划,公共和私营机构之间也开展了多重合作研究。

America Makes

ExOne 是 America Makes 的原始提案团队,后者是首个国家制造创新网络,由政府出资建立,并由国家国防制造与加工中心管理。America Makes 专注于帮助美国发展 3D 打印功能和实力。除了是该组织的成员外,ExOne 还是治理委员会、可持续性委员会的一员,目前参与了自身资助的多项计划,包括“加快美国铸造行业采用添加物制造”、“针对医疗应用采用生物可吸收金属合金添加物制造生物医学设备”和“开发可有效设计添加物制造细胞机构的拓扑优化工具”。

匹兹堡大学

匹兹堡大学和 ExOne 工程师采用 M-Flex® 探索尽可能实现最高部件致密性并开发理想烧结流程的选项。本研究是与 ExOne 的持续投资,旨在向核能源大学项目 (NEUP) 呈现其研究提案。 

弗吉尼亚理工学院

弗吉尼亚理工学院也使用 DREAMS(添加物打印系统设计、研究和教育)实验室的传统 R2™ 打印机,与 ExOne 一同开展研究。教职人员和学生正在调查适合添加物制造的应用。过去一年来,他们一直在测试在纯铜上打印的方法以及该方法在电子产品上的使用情况。研究的另一个方面包括确定陶瓷在部件制作中的潜力。 

路易斯维尔大学

路易斯维尔大学目前在读个项目中采用 X1-Lab™。在其中一个项目中,他们与路易斯维尔大学亚科学院合作,评估打印具有适当适合尺寸和机械性能的牙科陶瓷假体的情况。此外,路易斯维尔大学正在努力制作和评估成分梯度陶瓷和金属部件。它们重点关注界面粘结强度和微观结构缺陷,作为打印和后处理参数的函数。

北爱荷华大学

爱荷华大学利用 S-Max™ 打印机系统在技术和材料开发领域开展具有行业针对性的研究。通过研究以及与金属铸造业的合作,爱荷华大学为经济发展添砖加瓦。它们利用添加物制造流程帮助公司(如艾默生流程管理)制定购买决定,并最终帮助将制造工作拉回中西部。ExOne 在爱荷华大学金属铸造中心的 S-Max™ 可实现这类项目。

德州大学艾尔帕索分校(University of Texas at El Paso)

德州大学艾尔帕索分校 W.M. Keck 3D 创新中心的研究人员正在采用 ExOne 技术调查熔渗和粘结剂流程、部件密度和材料等课题。UTEP 已开始使用 INC 625 和 INC 718 比较熔渗和非浸渗部件的机械性能。此外,它们还使用数字单镜反光相机试验了粘结剂喷射流程的闭环自动反馈控制。此研究的结果将导致集成计量系统,该系统将帮助用户调整部件几何尺寸以适应烧结后的收缩,并通过记录任何普遍的制造错误来鉴定系统制造的资格。这些项目仍在进行中,许多其他项目也有助于 ExOne 技术的开发。 


您可能还希望

Facebook Twitter YouTube GooglePlus
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Research & Development

Opportunities through partnership.

As the use of 3D Printing grows, ExOne relies on its partnerships to research the best use of materials and methods for printing. ExOne engineers have worked closely with students and faculties to investigate those issues which play a pivotal role in the additive manufacturing industry.

Various research organizations are also actively engaged with the ExOne® process and equipment, including national laboratories such as Oak Ridge, Lawrence Livermore, and NIST.   Other commercial research programs are being performed at both supplier and customer facilities, as well as multi-partnered research between public and private institutions.

America Makes

ExOne was on the original proposal team for America Makes, the first National Network for Manufacturing Innovation funded by the government and driven by the National Center for Defense Manufacturing and Machining. America Makes is focused on helping the United States grow capabilities and strength in 3D printing. Besides being a member of this organization, ExOne has served on the Governance Board, the Committee for Sustainability and is currently involved with a number of their funded programs including “Accelerated Adoption of Additive Manufacturing in the American Foundry Industry,” “Additive Manufacturing of Biomedical Devices from Bioresorbable Metallic Alloys for Medical Applications” and “Developing Topology Optimization Tools that Enable Efficient Design of Additive Manufactured Cellular Structures.”

University of Pittsburgh

University of Pittsburgh and ExOne engineers are working with the M-Flex® to explore options for creating the highest possible densification in parts and developing an ideal sintering process. This research is an on-going venture with ExOne with the goal of presenting their research proposal to the Nuclear Energy University Programs (NEUP). 

Virginia Tech

Virginia Tech is also conducting research with ExOne using the legacy R2™ printer in their DREAMS (Design, Research, and Education for Additive Manufacturing System) Lab. Faculty and students are investigating applications for additive manufacturing. Over the last year, they have been testing methods for printing in pure copper and its uses in electronics. Another aspect of their research includes identifying the potential for ceramics in parts creation. 

University of Louisville

University of Louisville currently uses the X1-Lab™ in multiple projects. In one such project, they are collaborating with the School of Dentistry of U of L to evaluate the printing of dental ceramic prostheses with proper geometrical and mechanical properties. In addition, U of L is working to fabricate and evaluate compositionally graded ceramic and metal parts. They are focusing on interfacial bonding strength and microstructural defects as a function of the printing and post-process parameters.

University of Northern Iowa

University of Iowa has created research that is industry focused in the areas of technology and materials development utilizing the S-Max™ printer system. Research and partnerships with the metal casting industry have made University of Iowa a proponent of economic growth. They utilize additive manufacturing processes to assist companies, such as Emerson Process Management, to make purchasing decisions that will eventually help to bring manufacturing back to the Midwest. ExOne’s S-Max™ system at the University of Iowa’s Metal Casting Center makes such projects possible.

University of Texas at El Paso

The University of Texas at El Paso researchers at the W.M. Keck Center for 3D Innovation are investigating topics from infiltration and binder processes to part density and materials using ExOne technology. UTEP has begun comparing the mechanical properties of infiltrated versus non-infiltrated parts using INC 625 and INC 718. In addition, they are experimenting with a closed-loop automatic feedback control of the binder jetting process using a digital single-lens reflex camera. Results from this research will lead to integrated metrology that will help users adjust for part geometry to account for shrinkage post-sintering as well as qualifying system fabrication by logging any prevalent fabrication errors. These projects are on-going as well as many others that are contributing to developments in ExOne technology. 


You may also like